City Council

The City of Orangeburg operates under the council form of government, where elected representatives serve as the decision-making body. Here's how it works:

  • There are seven council members, including the mayor. They are elected on alternating terms, ensuring a balance of continuity and fresh perspectives. Each council member holds one vote.

  • The City Administrator, appointed by the Council, plays a critical role in implementing council policies and overseeing city employees. Their expertise and leadership are instrumental in the smooth functioning of the city government.

Appearing Before City Council

If you wish to address City Council or have a matter you'd like included on the agenda, please follow these guidelines:

  • Notify the City Administrator's Office by 12:00 Noon on the Thursday preceding the scheduled meeting date. This allows for adequate preparation and organization.

  • Special meetings may be convened by the City Administrator, and public notice of these meetings will adhere to the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act.

  • Any changes to the schedule of City Council Meetings will be advertised to keep the public informed.

Special Accommodations

For individuals requiring special accommodations, please reach out to Linda McDaniel in the City Administrator's Office at 979 Middleton Street or call (803) 533-6000. Kindly make this request at least forty-eight (48) hours in advance of the scheduled meeting to ensure your needs are met.

Your participation and engagement are valued, and the City of Orangeburg is committed to ensuring accessibility and transparency in its government proceedings.

Council Members

Mayor Butler
Michael C. Butler
  • Main
    (803) 533-6000
Richard F. Stroman
District 1 Seat
  • Main
    (803) 534-5434
Dr. Kalu Kalu
Dr. Kalu Kalu
District 2 Seat
  • Main
Jerry Hannah
District 3 Seat
  • Main
    (803) 534-2869
  • Work
    (803) 536-9254
Annette Dees Grevious
District 4 Seat
  • Main
    (803) 387-5505
L. Zimmerman Keitt
District 5 Seat
  • Main
    (803) 534-8967
Sandra Knotts
District 6 Seat
  • Main
    (803) 534-2160

Meeting Schedules

City Council Chambers
933 Middleton Street
Orangeburg, SC 29115

Regular Council Meeting
1st Tuesday of Each Month at 6:00 P.M.

Regular Council Meeting
3rd Tuesday of Each Month at 6:00 P.M.

Live Stream

You can view the live broadcast of the meeting by streaming it through Facebook Live.

Quick Links

Watch Past City Council Meeting Videos

Historical Councils & Mayors